Livin’ For Love


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, all the musicians were obliged to stay home basically, live performance opportunities with certain numbers of spectators were very limited. Without saying, Bill was not exceptional in this regard; California was pretty much locked down. Irrespective of the fact that Bill Champlin was happy or not under such new norm circumstances, he had enough time to complete his first solo album “Livin’ For Love” in more than a decade since 2008 “No Place Left To Fall”, whilst Bill has been very energetic, releasing “Bleeing Secret” under the name of Bill Champlin and Wunderground in 2018 with Tamara and Gary Falcone, and with Joseph Williams and Peter Friestedt, “CWF2”, the second album of Champlin Williams Friestedt, was released in May 2020.

The strong album opener “Reason To Believe” was with the late George Hawkins Jr. on bass recorded when he was still living in Nashville, also featuring Bruce Gaitsch on guitar and keyboards and Vinnie Colaiuta on drums. Bill had old Chicago gang, Jason Scheff on the track 4 “Show Me”, Jason shared the lead vocals with Bill on it. Greg Mathieson co-wrote and played keys on 3 songs; “Especially Me”, “Losin’ Ground” and “The Truth Has Begun”.
My personal favourite “Another Lie” is the song about Bill’s relationship with his eldest son before he passed away by esophageal cancer, very emotional song. Wunderground guy, Gary Falcone also contributed to this album too by co-writing “Hey” and “Love Lives On”.

Release : 22 January, 2021
Label: Wonderground Records / Imagen Records, USA (195269056469)

1. Reason To Believe
2. Especially Me
3. Livin’ For Love
4. Show Me
5. Another Lie
6. Hey
7. Alone
8. Love Lives On
9. Loosin’ Ground
10. A Stevie Song
11. Too Good For Too Long
12. Love Has No Heart
13. The Truth Has Begun
14. My Time

Producers: Bill Champlin, Bruce Gaitsch, Greg Mathieson, Carmen Grillo

Bill Champlin: Vocals, Keyboards, Guitars, Bass

- Musicians -
Guitars: Bruce Gaitsch, Gary Falcone, Tal Morris, Carmen Grillo
Keyboards: Bruce Gaitsch, Greg Mathieson, Steve Porcaro
Drums: Vinnie Colaiuta, Gordon Campbell, Alan Hertz
Bass: George Hawkins Jr., Jason Scheff, Abraham Laboriel
Percussion: Lenny Castro
Sax: Marc Russo
Lead Vocal: Jason Scheff (track 4)
Background Vocals: Tamara Champlin, Gary Falcone, Jason Scheff, Andreas Carlsson